Buying a New Car; Pt. 2

DAY 3 – March 31, 2014

After a few hours at the dealership, seeing the exact car in question arrive on the back of a truck, and after declining all of the dealer’s extra costly options, I signed the papers to purchase a 2014 Mazda3 sGT. While I waited to have the car prepped, I was making mental notes of every bit of inconvenience thrown in front of me, and how I would fill out the precious “Dealer Survey” that would be arriving in the mail. (note, It’s May and I’ve never gotten that promised survey form) By the end of the business day, I was given a thorough overview of the car and sent on my way. I got home just as it was getting dark, but that’s when I noticed the damaged antenna.

DAY 4 – April 1, 2014

Went to get the title for my old car which I traded in. Did you know that Ohio title offices close at noon on Mondays? The dealership sure didn’t. My credit union took my original title certificate when I borrowed against it, and converted it to an e-title, which exists only in ones and zeroes. I had to go pay for another paper title. When I returned to the dealership, with about 34 miles on the odometer and a total of an hour behind the wheel, the salesman saw the damaged antenna. It’s a sharkfin design, supposedly to be more aerodynamic, and to prevent damage when going through a car wash. Well they blamed the damage on the car wash, The thing was lifted up off the roof which had a slight dent in it. They said their carwash pulled up on it. They also noticed about an inch long smudge of residue from the factory protective membrane that new cars are covered with before transport. They promised to buff that out. They gave me a 2-y-o loaner car and sent me on my way with a promise that it’d be done in about 2 days. 

DAY 5 – April 2, 2014

Got the new car back, but the antenna was still a bit loose. Dent was fixed and no more smudge. OK, things were starting to look up.

DAYS 6 & 7 – April 3 & 4 2014

Rain. Lots of it. I was still on spring break so I did not have much driving to do. 

DAY 8 – April 5, 2014

This is my third full day of ownership and there are now about 150 miles on the odometer. It’s supposed to be a nice weekend, so I’ll drive to KY to show my family.

DAYS 9 & 10 – April 6 & 7 2014

Had a nice visit in KY. It was sunny out so I was finally able to see all the paint swirls buffed into the roof. One tiny residue smudge that would probably have worn off in the rain was converted into an entire roof of half-assed rubbing compound damage, typical of a 13 year old waxing a go cart and forgetting how to do the job correctly. I thought labor laws prevented young, untrained people from working on new cars.  Meanwhile, I’m growing frustrated by my car’s infotainment system, which never remembers where my iPod left off, but constantly restarts the first track every time. It’s OK, though. nothing to let myself get frustrated over. I drove home on the 7th and came closer to the 600 mile mark, which the owner’s manual says is the break in period. 

DAY 11 – April 8, 2014

I finally feel like this is for real, that I have my car and I’m going to enjoy the next 10-15 years of ownership. I’m starting to think it was a good decision instead of second guessing my trading in the old car. I mean, less than 170k, only needing a clutch and struts, the ’02 Protege5 could have lasted me another decade. But the new one is nicer, safer, and I had saved money for about seven years toward an eventual car purchase. I was even able to keep that held back when I went through unemployment. Maybe it was a good decision. It was a beautiful day and I felt good, so naturally it was time for me to have a car accident. 

DAY 12 – April 9, 2014

My brand new car has a smashed right rear corner. In Ohio, if you’re in an intersection waiting to turn left, and the light turns green, you’re supposed to wait for everyone who runs the red light in the opposite direction. I did, and when I had the gap, I turned, seeing nothing. It was only halfway through the turn when I could see one more car gunning it to beat the cross traffic and blow the red light. Never mind. He hit me, but I was the one turning. This is one more reason why witnesses need to come forward instead of texting “OMG, I jst saw a car crsh!” to their friends. The car was barely drivable, so no need for a tow, but I could tell it was messed up pretty bad. 

The adjuster came out, I set up the appointment at the collision center and secured a rental, all before I had to go to work. No wait, I didn’t get all that done until well past 3:00 in the afternoon. 

In the next post, I’ll give you… I have no idea. Just read on and you’ll see.

 

 

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

