Buying a New Car; My experience and the reason why I’ll never do it again. Pt. 1

DAY 1 – March 29, 2014

I’ve been researching for over nine months. There’s nothing I really want that I can afford to replace my car of a dozen years and almost 170k miles. I’m in need of repairs (clutch, struts) that will cost more than the value of the car. Maybe it’s time to do some test drives and see if I like any of the ones that I could see buying, even though they aren’t exactly what I want. I’ll start with Mazdas since my old one is a 2002 Protege5 and I’ve loved every minute of it. Today I test drove two 2014 Mazda3’s and they were more impressive than I thought they’d be. 

DAY 2 – March 30, 2014

Test drove some Subarus. Loved almost everything about them except the transmissions put them into the NEVER column for me. Too sluggish and rubbery. Went to a different Mazda dealership and tested the higher end 3 with the bigger engine and more bells and whistles. In a word? Wow. Loved it. Even though it’s only available in an automatic which I think is akin to learning to drive a car without a steering wheel in terms of stupidity. Hey, car companies, I want a stick with a proper clutch pedal. You want me to keep buying cars in the future? KEEP MAKING THEM. However, this car’s automatic performs as good or better than a lot of manuals, and I firmly believe car companies are building cheaper manuals in order to get people to convert over. Sorry idiots, you’re not fooling me. I might end up with an auto this time, but not forever.

DAY 3 – March 31, 2014

Deciding I might not ever buy a car again. It’s a huge purchase and I hate settling on things I don’t want just to get something new. That said, I loved that Mazda 3 so much, I’m going to put a few dealerships at war over a price. Two came through and actually responded, one did not. 

The long story of this day is that I finally got the deal I wanted and it was local. I might post about the antiquated experience of working with a dealership and salesman, but remembering it is almost as bad as pulling my own eyes out of their sockets. Dealerships, stop your games. People like me know what you’re doing, we know the odds are in your favor, so when we agree on a deal, don’t set up all these extra hoops hoping we’ll sign and go away. This is why I support Tesla in every way and why I won’t have the slightest bit of sympathy when car dealerships go the way of full service gas stations. 

But I’m making this too long for one post. I’ll end this one, give readers a chance to rest, then unleash the hell that was about to unfold. There I go again, calling it a hell when it was more of a series of first world problems. Hopefully my month of misery will be entertaining to you. Coming shortly…

Leave a Reply

