+/-

I’ve seen the plus-minus symbol dozens of times but I haven’t always thought of what it actually means in practical use.

Positive and negative. Up & down. Yin & Yang.

Last week my good friend Jeremy Roadruck, the Kung Fu Guy, talked with me about how the world works in the negative much of the time, and just how often we allow ourselves to function in the minus side of life. His philosophical perspective is different than mine to a degree, but quite similar in terms of practice.

Imagine two columns respectively labeled “plus” and “minus” with a list of words under each. The minus column contains the words FEAR, CONTROL and SCARCITY. When one perceives a scarcity such as in finances, resources or even security, a fear takes over and the protection instinct kicks in. The person works diligently to preserve what is already owned, or controlled. All you have to do is plug in the variables of each individual situation in order to see how the world becomes as screwed up as it often seems to be. The current President of the US and members of Congress depend on Americans living in this category. They fear us having independent thoughts so they work to control us by creating an actual scarcity. How else can you explain the economic situation experienced by so many today?

The positive side contains the words LOVE, FREEDOM and ABUNDANCE. Loving someone according to the prime definition of wanting them to achieve the best life experience they can have, or desiring the best situation for them leads to a freedom which produces an abundance of resources. Wealth comes from people working to help each other out. I liked Jeremy’s simple description we had over sushi: “I give the chef money, he gives me wonderful food and we both win.” Abundance results. Both parties win. Politicians hate this because it frees us from their control.

All too often we allow ourselves to withdraw into our shells, hoarding and protecting what’s ours for the preservation of ourselves and immediate family. Protecting what? Stuff that will burn. My job has provided a steady paycheck for a long time and I save what I don’t spend. But I haven’t given to charity or treated my family to anything nice in a while because I’ve perceived a scarcity. This is compounded by my looming unemployment. I must stop living in the minus column. I must love others, help them to live in freedom in whatever way I can and experience an abundance of something. This is what I think God meant when he said for us to help the poor, or to give our tithe. He wants us to live in abundance with freedom and to experience unconditional love. To do that we must give up the fear, control and thoughts of scarcity. To not is to let the enemy win.

Jeremy, if you read this, I don’t know where you learned this, but it’s simple and brilliant and is something worth passing along throughout generations. I sincerely hope this is an ancient parallel between the martial arts of the East and the teachings of the Messiah in whom I profess a belief. Thank you for sharing it with me, and I hope many others change their way of thinking because of this.

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “+/-

  1. Mike, You rock!

    In answer to your last paragraph, I work with children as young as 3 years old so I have to break things down to a very simple degree at times. And to be fair to my teachers – living and passed, human and animal – I’m not sure who or what first pointed out the positive energy / negative energy model, but I’ve reached a point that it’s a truism for me… kinda like I have two hands and don’t really need anyone to remind me of that (all that often, anyway)….

    Make it an outstanding day, and it helps me feel warm, big, and happy to know that our (awesome) evening of discussion triggered some positive things for you, too.

    Game on, yo!

    Sincerely,
    Jeremy R.

Leave a Reply

